top of page

Inside The Booth: Boston Bruins 2023-24 Opening Night and Centennial Season

An historic franchise celebrates its 100th season in the National Hockey League.

After 76 playoff appearances, 27 division championships, and six Stanley Cup Championships, the Boston Bruins honored their 100th year in the National Hockey League on October 11, 2023 - their 100th opening night.

Six times in franchise history, the Boston Bruins have won the NHL's ultimate prize. Members of the 1970, 1972, and 2011 teams joined in the celebration. Among them, from the 70s, include goaltending legend Gerry Cheevers, Derek Sanderson, and Ken Hodge. From 2011, Shawn Thornton, Tim Thomas, Tuukka Rask, David Krejci, captain Patrice Bergeron, and longtime Bruins captain Zdeno Chara.

All 12 men that have been bestowed the organization's highest honor - a retired number that hangs in the Garden Rafters for eternity - were honored. Dit Clapper, Milt Schmidt, Lionel Hitchman, and Eddie Shore all had family members honor their legacy. The other 8 men were live in the Garden to revel in their glory.

A thunderous roar broke out in the building after the alumni raised their sticks to kick off 100 years of Boston Bruins hockey. It was truly a night that Bruins fans won't forget.

Here's a glimpse Inside the Booth for the Bruins Opening Night ceremony to kick off the Centennial Season for 2023-24. Video courtesy of NESN and the Boston Bruins.


bottom of page